Way back story

20 01 2011

genesis [ˈdʒɛnɪsɪs]: a beginning or origin of anything; a coming into being

First, God.

Second, everything else.

The Bible opens with a fantastic account of God creating everything –

  • day and night
  • sky
  • sea, land and vegetation
  • sun, moon and stars
  • fish and birds
  • animals
  • human beings

Good God, good everything.

God is outside creation and separate from it, so although creation is good, it is not God.  There is coherence, meaning and purpose because God gives it.  (I’m not going to get into a creation/evolution debate – people much wiser and learned than me have done that.)

Good man? 

Man is distinct from the other animals because breathed life into him, made him in his image – imago dei.  I’m not sure what that means but I think it has to do with the special relationship that God instigates with human beings.  He walks and talks with them and they are given special responsibilities to care for the created order.  Human beings are in some way to reflect God’s character.  And it must have something to do with God being pleased.

Yes, good man (and woman).

Reflection

 

So what does it mean that God is pleased with me?  He is other than me, but wants to partner with me.  Somehow I need to live in such a way that people see something of God in me, but…

Take time with me to reflect.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

