Whisperings

14 02 2011

“Did God really say…?”

“There’s no harm in looking…”

“No one will know…”

“Why not?”

“Just this once…”

“It feels so right…”

The whisperings come in different guises but always they say, “I know what’s best for me.  God doesn’t have my best interests at heart. I’m in control of my life.”

The whisperings came to Jesus too.  Luke 4:1-13 gives us a masterclass in resisting the tempting voices.  Jesus was –

  • tempted to use his power for his own ends
  • tempted to take the easy way
  • tempted to compromise
  • tempted to doubt God’s faithfulness

His answer to the whisperings was always, “No”.  And he quoted from the Old Testament section of the Bible (Deuteronomy) to bolster his faith and resist the attractive suggestions of the devil.

Can we resist?  In the words of a famous Bob, “Yes, we can!”  The question is – do we want to?

The voice in Steve Turner’s poem is more like me –

Lead me into temptation
just one more time.
Lead me up close
through circumstances
beyond my control.
Lead me then leave me.
Deliver me from escape,
increase my ignorance
limit my will.
Make me the victim of
a victimless crime.
Leave me ’til sin
is the only way out,
give me a taste of
what to avoid.
Leave me ’til it’s
your fault
yet guilt floods me
like a chill.
Then lead me back
into temptation,
just one more time.

But it doesn’t need to be this way.

“The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.”  1 Corinthians 10:13

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

