I have so much to do

23 02 2011

“Not enough” is a phrase that haunts this generation – not enough time, not enough money, not enough jobs, not enough sleep, not enough exercise, not enough chocolate, just not enough.  So how can we fit God into an over-full timetable when there are not enough slots?

I’m more likely to respond with, Mmm…chocolate! than Mmm… prayer!

Christians down through the ages have had busy schedules.  Here are a couple of responses to busyness –

  • “I have so much to do that I spend several hours in prayer before I am able to do it.”  (John Wesley 1703-1791)
  • “Too busy not to pray”  (title of a book by Bill Hybels 1951-)

And when crowds followed Jesus demanding that he teach them about God and heal them of their diseases, what was Jesus’ reaction – he withdrew somewhere quiet so that he could pray.  One time we read about him praying all night out on a mountain, and at his baptism when the voice from heaven identifies him as God’s Son, Jesus is praying. 

There seems to be something about a connection, a developing of a relationship with God that I often miss.  Prayer is about that connection, not my shopping list of requests that I huff about if God doesn’t give me them.  Maybe  it is also an identity issue.  Do I really believe that I am made in the image of God and that he wants to relate to me?

Here is what Philip Yancey says in his book on prayer –

“If prayer stands as the place where God and human beings meet, then I must learn about prayer. Most of my struggles in the Christian life circle around the same two themes: why God doesn’t act the way we want God to, and why I don’t act the way God wants me to. Prayer is the precise point where those themes converge.”

Psalm 46:10 puts it like this

 “Be still (literally, Enough!) and know that I am God.”

Mmm…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

