DIY Oscar

28 02 2011

 The Guardian newspaper told us today that Colin Firth and Tom Hooper were the men of the Oscars 2011 for the film The King’s Speech.  I wonder what it feels like to be in the limelight like that.

(Photograph: Gary Hershorn/REUTERS)

~

Nine years ago About a boy was nominated for an Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay (of the novel by Nick Hornby). 

The lead character Will considers himself to be an island. Ibiza, actually. “In my opinion, all men are islands. And what’s more, now’s the time to be one. This is an island age.”

His life is divided into units time of no more than 30 minutes.  He sits around watching Countdown, listening to Bon Jovi, exercising (playing snooker), and having his hair “carefully dishevelled”, all the while living off the royalties of a Christmas song written by his father.  The fact that he does nothing, has no job, no prospects doesn’t exactly endear him to the women he dates but that’s not really a problem since Will isn’t into commitment anyway. Enter Marcus, the twelve year old boy who challenges all Will’s assumptions.

Here’s how Will sums up his pre-Marcus life –

“The thing is, a person’s life is like a TV show. I was the star of The Will Show. And The Will Show wasn’t an ensemble drama. Guests came and went, but I was the regular. It came down to me and me alone.”

By the end of the film he has grown a little and acknowledges that –

 “Every man is an island. I stand by that. But clearly some men are island CHAINS. Underneath, they are connected…”

~

I leave the last word with Don Miller (Blue Like Jazz)  –

“The most difficult lie I have ever contended with is this: Life is a story about me.”

Actions

Information

One response

26 06 2011
Yes, but how? « moses supposes

[…] consider and choose in a bigger context than myself.  I need to keep remembering that I am not the star of the show…even though I would like to […]

Leave a Reply

