At last!

25 04 2011

I read Logic and Metaphysics in my first year at university and most of the first term I spent in a complete mental fog.  By chance I got to know a fourth year student who offered to help me get to grips with p, q, ~p, ~q and various other symbols that my keyboard won’t let me share with you.

After one session I had it cracked.  My friend explained that from an array of symbols on each side of an equation all I had to do was reduce it to one. (Remember that this was decades ago and so I may not be giving a totally accurate description of a formal logic process – please don’t bother telling me!)  The penny had dropped and from then on I got top marks for my formal logic exams.

I tell you this not to boast about my logical skills, but to illustrate the penny dropping.  I can still remember that feeling of the fog lifting, and it’s that feeling of clarity that I want to tap into.  (If you have your own experience of fog clearing, try to recall the feelings associated with it.)

Luke invites us  to walk with two of Jesus’ followers on the seven mile journey from Jerusalem to Emmaus.  Cleopas and his friend are in a mental and spiritual fog, with sadness written across their faces.  As they walk and talk, “Jesus himself suddenly came and began walking with them.”  They don’t recognise the risen Jesus, even when he explains the Old Testament Scriptures to them.

But then the penny drops.

“[Jesus] went home with them.  As they sat down to eat, he took the bread and blessed it. Then he broke it and gave it to them. Suddenly, their eyes were opened, and they recognized him.”

What an unforgetable moment!

“Luke has invited us to accompany him on a journey of faith, faith that will take us through anxiety and sorrow to meet Jesus who has accomplished his Father’s work, and longs to share the secret of it – and the gift of his own presence – with us, his followers.”

Tom Wright

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

