Is life dribbling off to nothing?

8 05 2011

 I’ve been quiet for a while because I’ve been pondering, pondering how to avoid futility.

Futility scares me.  On March 20 I read Psalm 78 – how awful to get to the end of life and have that verdict… “their lives dribbled off to nothing”; then last week I had a nudge while reading Paul’s writing in 1 Corinthians 15 – “…if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile.” 

So the resurrection of Jesus is more than a topic that theologians can discuss (and many do), it’s a matter of living.  The meaning and purpose of my faith depend upon it.  And because “the resurrection is not something we can use or manipulate or control or improve on,” (Eugene Peterson) I need to be open to a life where I don’t call the shots, in which I allow God to work.  Scary but hopeful.

If what Paul says is true, it’s clearly important to get this sorted out – was Jesus raised from the dead or not?  Bethinking has a page of resources pitched at different levels if you want to do some exploring.

Actions

Information

One response

8 05 2011
Martha L Shaw

My, what a timely post. I was just thinking along similar lines. You are so right. We need to allow God to work and invite Him to work in and through us. We must depend on our faith. All is NOT lost when we do so. Thank you for this!

Leave a Reply

