Do I really want to do what is right?

20 05 2011

 

This is the reality check question of the week.  I usually say, “Yes” without thinking much about it – of course I want to do what is right.  But this week I entered into the tug of war that Paul describes in Romans chapter 7…”I really want to do what is right, but I don’t do it…I know perfectly well that what I’m doing is wrong.”

Here’s a biopsy of my struggles.

I really want to finish reading a library book.  It’s not due back, I just want to read.  A friend phones in distress and I know that going to see her will take all my reading time. 

I have a project (not work related) to finish by a deadline.  My project time has been eroded by a family crisis.  I am quiet at work and my boss is away.  No one will know if I steal time.  I’ve even brought the project papers with me to work, just in case.

The family crisis is demanding.  I can take time to align with God or I can bash on with my own coping mechanisms.

~

There’s a story that goes around about a child in a Sunday School class who is keen to please her teacher.  The teacher instigates a guessing game – “What is small, furry, has a long tail and eats acorns?”  The little gives a slow, somewhat puzzled reply,  “I know that answer should be Jesus, but it sounds like a squirrel to me.”

Paul tells us the answer to our internal tug of war (and it’s not a squirrel!)  Twice in Romans chapters 6 and 7 he exclaims – “Thank God!”  Why? Because the answer is Jesus – “Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord” (Romans 7:25)

We have a choice…

“…you have no obligation whatsoever to do what your sinful nature urges you to do…”

Tug, tug.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

