The great leveller

2 06 2011

 Death is never far from Job’s thoughts.  Here are some of his reflections –

“Why didn’t I die at birth?” (Job 3:11)

“My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle flying back and forth…my life is but a breath.” (Job 7:6)

“My life passes more swiftly than a runner.  It flees away, filled with tragedy.” (Job 8:25)

“How short is life, and how full of trouble!  Like a flower, we blossom for a moment and then wither.” (Job 14:1-2)

When I wrote about the Psalmist’s thoughts in Psalm 103, I noted the message of hope.  But where is the hope for Job?  Life is bleak.

Suddenly out of the darkness bursts the extraordinary declaration of faith –

“I know that my Redeemer lives, and that he will stand upon the earth at last.  And after my body has decayed, yet in my body I will see God!  I will see him for myself.  Yes, I will see him with my own eyes.  I am overwhelmed at the thought!” (Job 19:25)

(Sing along with Handel’s celebration on Youtube – it will lift your heart!)

 Whoever we are – rich or poor, high flyer or plodder, young or old – there will be an end point. 

Am I confident that I will see God?

Will I know him when I see him?  Will he know me?

~

“When I read the several dates of the tombs, of some that died yesterday, and some six hundred years ago, I consider that great day when we shall all of us be contemporaries, and make our appearance together.”

Thoughts in Westminster Abbey (Joseph Addison 1711)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

