Absence makes the heart…

23 11 2011

Life has overtaken me in the last few weeks.  I’m sure you know the feeling.  Things have happened that were unpredicted and unplanned; there have been calls on time and energy that have drained my tank; stuff has come to the fore that should have stayed as background noise.  It has been life “full to overflowing” rather than “life in all its fulness”.

I have kept with the WordLive programme (more or less, with a few days adrift here and there, now and again) but I have been quiet on the blog for the longest time this year.  The interesting thing that I have discovered is that writing my posts helps me process what I read, and as a result I’m much better at implementing what I’m learning.  So no writing has meant 286-processing and impoverished impementing.  I feel like the person whom James describes in his letter towards the end of the New Testament –

Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like.”  (James 1:22-24)

So, my absence is over and I hope my heart is in a better place now that I’ve started to write again.

Actions

Information

One response

31 12 2011
The year at a glance « moses supposes

[…] changes to my life so that what I read impacts me. Writing my blog has helped me process things (Absence makes the heart…) and I’m grateful to those of you who have commented and talked with me about what I […]

Leave a Reply

