The cross is bugging me

27 06 2012

As I walked to work this morning I was aware of a tapping sound in my bag. I tried to ignore it, but you know how it is – the more you try to ignore, the more persistent the distraction. I unstrapped my bag and rearranged lunchbox, spec case, keyring, and set off again. Tap, tap, tap with each step. Repeat of previous scenario including vigorous shake of bag.

Right at the bottom I found what was bugging me.

I have a wooden holding cross which I sometimes have in my pocket. It had migrated to my bag and was tapping its way into my consciousness. “It’s the cross that’s bugging me,” I said aloud.

I’m not the first to have been bugged by the cross. In Paul’s first letter to the Christians who lived in Corinth he says, “…when we preach that Christ was crucified, the Jews are offended and the Gentiles say it’s all nonsense.”

Then he adds a “but”…

“The message of the cross is foolish to those who are headed for destruction! But we who are being saved know it is the very power of God.” (1 Corinthians 1:18-25)

So I walked on with the cross in my hand, and thought about the mysterious power of God that is above and beyond human wisdom. We can’t work it out, why God would use the death of Jesus to bring us life, but we can respond. Perhaps my response should be a prayer that the cross will bug me more…that I will not ignore the tapping of God’s love in my life, but I will listen and take action.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

